The following appeared in a memo from the Vice President of the food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with Fly-away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in Pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given argument the author scrutinizes the work of Fly-away Pest Control Company by comparing it with that of the work of Buzzoff Pest Control Company. The author holds the negligence of the Fly-Away Pest Control Company responsible for greater damage caused at their warehouse in Palm City as compared to their other warehouse in Wintervale. The author attempts to prove his contention by providing the statistics of damage of food by Pests at two the different Locations mentioned previously.

The author takes the help of the statistics of the damaged food by Pests at the two different warehouses. And lands over a conclusion that the warehouse with the least damage has been provided with the best service from the Pest control company. It is possible that the warehouse with less food damage might be smaller than the other. Thus, the food stored there might be less as compared to the other warehouse ultimately leading to lesser damage. It is also possible that one warehouse is having proper cleaning of it at regular intervals. Thus, limiting the growth of the Pests and managing the food damage. Similarly, there are many other reasons which are responsible for the damage to food. Thus, it will be incorrect to blame the Pest Control Company for it.

The author further adds on to his argument by providing the statistics of the damage of food by pests in terms of money. Here the author doesn’t mention the food types stored in both the warehouses. It is possible that in the warehouse at Palm City more expensive foodstuff is stored than the warehouse in Wintervale. Thus, even though the damage in terms of quantity might be the same, but in terms of money the damage of food at Palm city warehouse will always be more than that of the warehouse at Wintervale. Thus, the author needs to provide additional information in order to avoid various alternative explanations for his theory.

The author also needs to give information about the probability of the food items to be prone to Pests damage. As it is possible that the food stored at Palm city warehouse is more prone to pests’ damage than the food stored at Wintervale. Thus, whichever Pest control company whether it be Fly-away or Buzzoff, can't help. As Pest control will try to limit the damage, but that can't completely stop it. Thus, if this was the case then the warehouse at Palm City will always have more food damage as compared to the warehouse at Wintervale.

Although the statistics of food damage by Pests do support the author’s conclusion that it was the negligence of the Fly-Away company that caused more food damage at the Palm City warehouse than the warehouse at Wintervale. On the flip side, several alternative explanations could be interpreted from the author’s generalizations like those mentioned above which tend to weaken his argument.