Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

It is the sole responsibility of every individual in the society to obey laws, they are designed for the good of it. At times these laws are not beneficial for the society, instead could be detrimental to it and sometimes to an individual's dignity and pride.

People in Germany are known all over the world for strictly obeying the rules and regulations, they think it as their responsibility to obey them. Because of this habit of obeying the laws and strictly following the rules, they are successful in controlling the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, with the least number of deaths as compared to other countries. Thus, it is the responsibility of each and every individual to obey the rules to make society function better.

Likewise, there are many other examples of how following the rules and obeying the laws lead to better functioning of society. But sometimes these laws also inhibit the needs of people and cause them to protest against such unjust laws. For instance in India, the Supreme court took a very good decision of closing all the beer and wine shops on expressways. This decision of the court led to a huge loss of the government revenues, which they stopped getting after all those shops were closed. Also, this made the Restaurant and shop owners starve to death, who had it as the only source of income. From this, one can understand that there are not only good but also bad effects of some laws. Thus, resisting such laws by protesting against them to make the authorities to rethink and modify, is a good option.

As said, to protest against unjust laws is okay. But it is not at all acceptable if one disobeys the laws, as they are meant for the well-being of the society. Even though a law seems to be unjust for one, but as said before, there are both good and bad sides of it. It is the individual's view of how he looks at them. Every country gives its citizens the freedom of speech and expression, thus they could protest against the unjust laws by not actually disobeying them. Hence, disobeying and resisting the unjust laws is not at all agreeable, as there is an alternative option present of protesting against them.

In conclusion, every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws, and for the unjust ones instead of disobeying they could follow the approach as presented. As it is an individual’s level of perception from which he understands and not everyone thinks in the same way. Thus, one must follow all the rules whether it be just or unjust.