Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were all domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

The owner of a chain of cheese stores claims that the stocking of different varieties of imported cheese should discontinue as nowadays people prefer domestic cheese more than the imported cheese. However, the owner has to provide some evidence to strengthen his argument.

First of all, the owner of a chain of cheese store has mentioned in his argument that in last year's ranking of best-selling cheeses, in the newest store located in Wisconsin, any variety of imported cheese was not present in the top five. But it is possible that the ranking in other stores is different from the store located in Wisconsin. Furthermore, it is also possible that as the store is new, people in this area would like to stick to the domestic cheeses at first to assure that the taste and quality are good and later on, check the imported cheese. These possibilities weaken the argument. Hence, the owner needs to provide sufficient data from different stores, new and old, located all around the United States to strengthen his statement.

Afterwards, the owner has mentioned that survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. But it is more likely possible that, the survey may have some loopholes in it like the number of subscribers, the percentage of increase in proclivity towards domestic cheese, the total number of subscribers in the United States who prefer domestic cheese, etc. The owner has to provide a detailed report of the survey which includes the above points to strengthen his argument further.

Finally, he has provided a solution for improving the profit in all of the stores in the United States. The solution states the best way to improve profits by discontinuation of stocking of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses. The owner has to provide evidence that currently, the wastage is almost equal to the stock of imported cheese whereas the wastage of domestic cheese is low in different stores. Afterward, he also needs to mention the expected percentage of increase in profit with proper calculations and evidence.

To sum up, the Owner of a chain of cheese store has to provide data of different stores, detailed reports of survey and wastage, and profit calculations to strengthen his argument regarding the discontinuation of the stock of different varieties of imported cheese to increase the profit.