The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college’s governing committee.

“We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumni who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all-female, therefore, will improve morale among students and convince alumni to keep supporting the college financially.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president and administrative staff of Grove College have made a recommendation to preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. However, the argument has made assumptions, and proving it unwarranted will weaken it.

At first, it is mentioned that eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female. It is an unstated assumption in the statement that the majority of the students have responded to the survey out of which eighty percent of them want the school to remain all female. But it might be possible that all the students could not be the part of survey because of the reasons like time of the survey, the method by which the survey was conducted, the feasibility of the students to attend the survey, etc. Hence, if this is true, and the majority of students want the school as coeducational then both faculty members and students will be in the same favor. This weakens the argument as an opinion of faculty members and students is more important while taking this decision because it will affect them the most.

Secondly, it is stated that only fifty percent of the Alumni are in opposition to coeducation. From this author concludes that if the school opposes the view of Alumnus then, the school will end up losing its financial support from the Alumni. But his conclusion depends on the mere assumption that the Alumni won’t be supportive if their views are contradicted. If the Alumni are still supportive then it would be in favor of the faculties and the college may prosper according to the views presented by the faculties.

Thus, the author has assumed that the opinions of students and alumni are more important than faculties. This is not the case as the students will be leaving the school once their course is over, but the faculties will remain for a longer period of time. Hence, the opinions of the faculties should be taken into consideration for the proper functioning of the school.

Furthermore, the Author says that in order to improve morale among the students, the school should remain all-female. The author assumes that the opinions of the students are important and taking the decision in their favor will lead to the betterment of the school. It might be possible that even though initially it will be tough for the students to adjust, but later on the coeducational workspace will also be comfortable for the students and simultaneously this will benefit the school considering more applications from the students to apply to Grove.

To conclude, the recommendation made by the president and administrative staff not to make school coeducational is not well thought out and is based on hurriedly made assumptions. If the factors mentioned above are not taken into account, then recommendations will affect adversely.