The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth.

The statement that the most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth is very strong and might not always be true. There are many other ways by which one could understand contemporary culture. We will discuss the same in the further passage.

The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth because they like to keep themselves updated. For instance, in today’s world of music, pop culture is an emerging genre and it is also trending among youngsters because of their keen interest in knowing new things. On the other hand, the elders don’t like to change themselves and adapt to new stuff. They mostly prefer old music over the new ones. Thus understanding the contemporary culture based on the elders’ trends will give false contention. Hence analysing the trends of the youth will surely give the correct understanding of contemporary culture.

In contrast, it is not always correct to say that analysing trends of youths will help to understand the contemporary form of traditional culture. The cultural rituals and traditions are mostly followed by the elders and are taught to the youngsters. Thus, the elders contribute more towards the culture and teach the youth to do so. Every cultural ritual being conducted has its meaning which the elders understand more and if only they are successful in passing this knowledge correctly to the youths, these rituals will not die in the future. For instance, in India, Ganesh Chaturthi is one of the famous festivals celebrated with joy all over the nation. In this, people worship the idol of Lord Ganesh. Some youths misunderstand the tradition and make noise pollution by playing loud music on roads. Thus as the society, whether it be modern or old, constitutes of both the elders and youths - the analysis of only the youths’ trends will definitely not give a correct understanding of the culture in this contemporary world.

Sometimes, the new contemporary culture is just a renewed form of the old culture. In order to understand this culture, it is important to analyse both the views of new as well as old. For instance, Kathak, one of the traditional dance forms in India, has reborn into various new contemporary dance forms. If one wants to study these new dance forms, he also needs to gain a sound knowledge of its origin. Likewise, along with the trends of youths, it is important to consider the views of old people while understanding contemporary culture.

In conclusion, yes it is an effective way to understand the contemporary culture by analysing the trends of its youth, but not the most effective ones. This modern society is made up of both elders and youths. Thus, a proper analysis will be to analyse the trends of both groups.