The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as asprin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food - processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given summary on the study of “Headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia," the author states that it is because of the salicylates there was a steady decline in the number of Headaches suffered by the people in Mentia. This statement of the author is based on the study of twenty years, of headaches, of people. The author, here, makes a cursory conclusion based on several unwanted assumptions. The deficiencies in his argument need to be addressed before the author's statement is seriously considered.

Firstly, the author has correlated the use of salicylates, used in the foods as preservatives, with the Headaches of the people. Here the author assumes that Salicylate is consumed by the people, but he forgets that not all the preservatives are mixed with the food, and Salicylate might be one of them. So, if it won't be consumed then it will be incorrect to say that it is because of the salicylates there is a decline in headaches of the people.

Secondly, the author states that the food-processing companies have found that the Salicylates could also be used as flavor additives for foods. From this, the author is making an assumption that the amount of the Salicylates added into the food as a flavor additive is well enough to reduce the headache. As the flavor additives are added into the food in very small amounts thus might reduce the efficacy of the medicine.

Although Salicylate is a medicine, Afterall it is a chemical and not naturally made. Thus, it may also have adverse side-effects on different people with different body physic. Hence, now it becomes important to know about the participants who were surveyed, their age groups, their reasons for headaches, whether they took any medicine for it, etc. As the author has averaged his study over a certain number of participants whom he might have assumed to be of the same health conditions. As mentioned earlier there are different medicines having different efficacy on people with different physic. Thus, the results of the survey may not be reliable to elicit such a conclusion.

Also, the author assumes that the conditions haven't changed in the past 20 years. Like 20 years back there might be some crisis condition, due to which people might be disturbed and slowly recovered from it, thus there might be a decline in number of headaches in past 20 years. Thus, his assumption that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates caused the decrease in headaches seems to be dubious.

Thus, the author's conclusion seems to be generalized and dubious because of the assumptions he made in his study. These above-mentioned assumptions made by the author needs to be looked into. Either it might lead to the inimical effects of Salicylates on the human body, hence average number of headaches won’t be predictable.