Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

The claim that when planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students seems to be correct, but the reason that the students will be more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying seems to be not abiding by the claim.

The claim presented by the author is passable, as the students' suggestions should be taken into account while planning the courses. The students are the one who are going to go through the rigorous tests and assignments throughout the learning process. For instance, In any professional course such as Engineering, during the final year, the students are given choices to select subjects of there choice from a pool of subject according to their interests. Thus, the students are also happy as they get to learn the subject of their choice and also have a satisfaction that their opinion is also taken into consideration while designing the course.

This does give them a motivation to learn as they get to study what they are interested in, but this case is not applicable everywhere and could not be generalized to all students. As mentioned before this option of electives is given to only the final year students. The students of lower classes are just neophytes and don't know what in whole the course is about. Thus, taking their opinion into consideration would lead to loss of their own, as their suggestions would be in line to their previous experiences till then which are lacking the basic knowledge of the course. In this case, the suggestions of experienced educators are more beneficial, than that of the students, hence will be better if remain unaltered by those of students.

Furthermore, the reason presented that Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying does not abide by the claim, as the claim states that when planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students. For instance, if a student gives a suggestion so as to eliminate a subject from the curriculum just because he has heard from someone that it is difficult. Also, the educators assert to his suggestion. But it is after the student starts learning the course, he will get to know whether he is interested in it or getting motivated to study it. Thus, planning the course with the students' opinions to some extent will help to make the course better. But will not guarantee that the course will motivate and draw the students' interest.

Thus, the author's claim seems to be partially correct and so the reason presented for it. Additionally, the reason given is also not correctly explaining the claim. Hence, when planning courses, educators should not always take into account the interests and suggestions of their students, as it is not necessary that doing so will motivate the students to study the course or be interested in it.