The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author claims that young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields should be prepared by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I would like to partially agree with the author's claim as a leader should be cooperative with his own team members and simultaneously competitive with his opponents.

Everyone has become competitive these days; every individual wants to prove himself to be better than others. Hence, in this case, if a leader also thinks about his personal betterment then the system could not work efficiently, and they will end-up competing among themselves. This will apparently stop their overall growth. For instance, in today’s corporate world, the senior members try to steal the credit of their colleagues in order to get temporary fame from the authorities and lose the much-needed support of their mates. This cooperative support from colleagues is very important for the company to function properly. Hence, one can say that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Furthermore, a leader should be able to take a collective decision. He should maintain a jibe between all team members. For example, M. S. Dhoni, former captain of the Indian cricket team, is known to be 'The Captain cool'. He has always given his team first priority over anything else. He always kept the team united and maintained an equilibrium between all the team members from which the team manage to achieve great success. Hence having a co-operative quality in a leader always helps in any field.

In contrast, if a leader lacks competitiveness, he will never try to push himself out of his comfort zone. Hence inhibit the growth of the team. Competitions provoke the individual to beat his opponents, by improving his skillset. For example, in schools and colleges, different competitions are arranged to instill competitive quality among students which will encourage them to do better than others. Likewise, it is also important for a leader to exhibit competitiveness in order to encourage the team to grow.

To sum up, a leader should not only be cooperative with his own team members but also competitive with his opponents. And hence the author's statement- the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition- is partially correct.