Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The claim that "Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance" seems to be incorrect because of many reasons. It is the students' intelligence and hardwork which leads to good academic performance as the teachers just act as a catalyst in the learning process. In some situations, it is correct to agree with the claim considering the students’ profits.

The students' hardwork, persistence and determination are what pays them off with good academic performance. For instance, the students studying in colleges have much fewer grades as compared to their academic performance during high school. As the students when they come to colleges lose their sincerity, thus lowering their academic performance. It proves that the students are responsible for their academic performance and not the teachers, hence it won't be a good choice to base the teachers' salaries according to their students' academic performance.

Teachers may try their level best but the student might have some problem from his end. For example, if a student takes admission into a course like Engineering but lacks basic knowledge of mathematics. In this case, the student will definitely suffer and will get poor grades, even though the teacher teaches with full dedication if he doesn't strengthen his math basics. Thus, there might be a problem from students' side for which punishing the teachers by offering them lesser pay is not a good option.

In contrast, sometimes it is beneficial to base the teachers' salaries on their students' academic performance. As everyone has greed for money and hence the teachers are also not an exception. Thus, they will try their best to improve the academic performance of the students in order to get higher payments. This will not only improve the reputation of the institute but also prove to be beneficial for the students. Resultingly basing the teachers' salaries according to their students' academic performance is justifiable.

Thus, the claim in some aspects is agreeable, but not always. As said before there might be a problem from students' end or might be the case that the student is not persistent or lacking determination in studies. Thus, won't be a good choice to punish the teachers by giving them lesser pay because of the students' mistake.