Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Author has written a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine in which he claimed that the decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park has a different cause than the decline of amphibians worldwide. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, author needs to provide evidences to strengthen his justification.

First of all, author has mentioned that, according to the census, appeal of amphibians of seven different species in Xanadu National Park were present in 1975, but the situation in 2002 was not the same and only four species with drastic decrease in number were observed. It is important to check that the number has been continuously decreasing throughout these twenty-seven years or the number has suddenly dropped down in between any 4-5 years to predict the possibilities of drastic reduction. Hence, author needs to provide data regarding number of amphibians of each species from year 1975 to 2002 with interval of 4-5 years.

Furthermore, author has mentioned that, the reason of decrease in number in Xanadu National Park is different from the pollution of water and air, which was the reason for worldwide reduction. Causes of pollution of water and air are increase in industries, deforestation, increase in automobiles, use of plastic, etc. Hence, it is important to inspect the area surrounded by Xanadu National Park to find out any reasons for increasing pollution of water and air is present which will further be the reason of decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park.

Lastly, the reason for decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park is introduction of trout, which are known to eat amphibian eggs. The number of introduced trout in 1975 is a deciding factor to judge whether the all amphibian eggs are possible to be eaten by trout. Also, it will be helpful to check whether the number of trout are increased or decreased from 1975 to 2002 and if so, then by what percentage. Afterwards, as trout and amphibians are both parts of ecosystem it is required to check the reasons to eat all amphibian eggs by trout and not maintaining the balance of ecosystem.

To sum up, author needs to provide data with interval of 4-5 years from year 1975 to 2002, inspection report of the area surrounded by Xanadu National Park, Total number of trout and reasons to eat all amphibian eggs by trout to validate his point about drastic decrease of amphibians in Xanadu National Park.