College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The claim presented by the author that the college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field is partially correct. Like a coin has two sides similarly this motion also carries another side of it. We will walk through both sides of this claim in the further passage.

Although it is necessary to have knowledge of future job availability to select the field of study is a fair choice, but no one could predict what the situation will be in the future. For instance, a decade ago many students in India chose IT(Information Technology) as their field of study. But, as those students who were in great demand back then had to face job recession. The main reason for this was the saturation in that field, also the whole structure of the IT field had transformed due to technical advancements. Thus, what was in demand before was not asked for in present. In this period only those were able to survive who upgraded themselves and had a real interest in that field. Hence, it is essential for the students to explore their field of interest before making this crucial decision, on which their future is based.

As said, It is more important for a student to select the choice of field in which he is interested, as then only he will enjoy his work and do it more passionately. For instance, if a student chooses to pursue his education in Computer science field just because there is the likelihood of job availability in future in this field, and in reality, he has an interest in a different field. If he somehow manages to get a job, but will not be better than the one who exceptionally has an interest in this field. Thus to excel in a particular field, it is important for the students to choose the field of study which draws his interest and he seems curious to explore it.

In contrast, completely moving with the flow is not a good option. Many students think they are interested in a particular field but are not totally aware of the field and the job market in the future; they are bound to make a cursory choice of choosing one before knowing about it. For instance, there are many students who choose a field of study according to the choices made by most of their friends, but it is really essential for such students to get proper guidance of the future aspect of that field. Ultimately, they have to earn money so if they are not aware of their passion and interests they should consult a counsellor who could guide them with the same. Just studying for years and investing a huge amount of time and money on such education which could not even return the money spent over it is not at all a fair choice.

In conclusion one must note, it is important to know the situation of the job market in future plays a vital role to select the field of study only for those who are not aware of their future goals and interests. But for those students who are aware of their passion and interests should not base their choice of field of study on such contentions.