Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant number of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xandu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout - which are known to eat amphibian eggs - were introduced into the park."

The author is concerned about the decrease in the number of Amphibians worldwide and holds the Global Pollution responsible for it. Further, the author has highlighted a different reason for decline in number of amphibians in Xandu national park. The author says that it is because of the trouts, amphibian eggs eating fishes, there is a decline in amphibian species from 7 in 1975 to only 4 in 2002.

The author says that in 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with an abundant number of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. The season of the year at which the census was conducted in 2002 might be the hibernating period for many species. Therefore, these species might not have been part of the census. Amphibians do not like extreme temperatures. During the cold winter months, most of them will either hibernate in the mud at the bottom of the water or dig down into the ground to hibernate. Some amphibians stow away in cracks in logs or between rocks during the winter. Thus, there is a need to give details of the period of the year at which the census was conducted in both the years.

Secondly, the author says that there has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. Along with the increase in Pollution, there might be many other reasons affecting the decline in number of amphibians worldwide. Many other factors such as the Wildfire, Deforestation, soil erosion and lack of food might have caused the decline. For instance, due to high temperatures and severe drought the forests in Australia caught bush fire which drastically spread all over the continent. Thus, killed a large number of animals and destroyed their habitat.

The reason for the decline of amphibian species worldwide i.e. the air and water pollution might also be the reason for the decline of amphibians in Xandu national park. Hence the author needs to provide evidence that the reasons are different for the decline of amphibians in the Park.

Further, the author proposes a different reason for the decline of amphibians in Xandu National Park, that it is because of the trouts - which are known to eat amphibian eggs - were introduced into the park. There might be some amount of decline in the number of amphibians due to the "trout", but the author hasn't mentioned when the "trout" was bought into the Park and how fast it multiplied in number. As these factors are important to be known whether the number of trouts in the park really were able to extinguish three amphibian species from the park. As many amphibians lay eggs in large clusters called egg masses and these eggs are too much in number. For example, a frog lays around 4000 eggs at a time. Thus, it becomes very important to know the number of trouts in the park. Also, there might be any other reason as mentioned earlier for the decline of the amphibian species.

The author glosses over various questions that need to be answered like the season of the year in which the survey was conducted, subsidiary reasons causing the decline of amphibians and the number of trouts in the park when they were brought in the park, and their ability to eat a whole lot of eggs laid by the amphibians. If the author mentions these additional evidences then his claims would be more cogent.