Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The following appeared in a memo from the new Vice President of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

The recommends that the Sartorian company must resume production of the alpaca overcoat in order to gain huge profits from their sale. The author presumes that there will be an overwhelming response to the product, assuming that there is no other comparable product in the market been offered by the competitors. Although the author's argument does not seem to be well through and neglects several possibilities.

Firstly, the author says that the company had discontinued the production of its popular alpaca overcoats because they had difficulty in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric. Now, as the company gets a new fabric supplier, they seem to resume production. As mentioned earlier, the reason for which the company had discontinued the production of the alpaca coats, was the lack of reliable supplies. Thus, the author glosses over many questions that need to be answered such as, what is the quality of the material given by the new supplier? Does the quality meet the needs of the company? At what price is the new supplier willing to give the material? Thus, it is important to know whether the cost of supplies has increased or not. Although the author has mentioned an increase in overall clothes prices if the cost of supplies also increases correspondingly and the profit margin remains the same. Then it will be incorrect to conclude that it is profitable for the company. Similarly, there are many questions that have not been answered.

Secondly, the author mentions that it has been five years since the company had discontinued the alpaca overcoats. Five year’s time is quite enough to change people's opinions and tastes. Further, the author mentions that there was an outcry among the customers due to the discontinuation in the production of the alpaca overcoats. But now it becomes very important to know when was the outcry among the people? as if the outcry was in very past then the people might have forgotten the overcoats and something new might be in fashion at present. This further raises the question, whether there is still demand for the alpaca overcoats in the market? If the demand for overcoats is seasonal or not? as most of the people prefer to use overcoats during winters.

Furthermore, the author tries to strengthen his argument by stating the fact that the other competitors can't offer a comparable product to the popular alpaca overcoats. Then it becomes important to understand why other competitors cannot offer a similar product. As it might be the case that the companies had started the production of product comparable to alpaca overcoat, and the response which they got for it was not good, and thus discontinued its production. Similarly, this might happen with the Sartorian company, hence one cannot expect pent-up consumer demand for the alpaca coats.

Thus, the author should not make any hasty decisions about the pent-up consumer demand for their alpaca coats and should consider the questions mentioned above. Also, it will be incorrect to predict that "Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before" as there are many questions that need to be answered before predicting such cursory statements.