"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has made an argument that shortening the time of shift by an hour will reduce the on-the-job accidents of workers at company Butler Manufacturing. The author supports his argument by providing an example of another company and presenting the study reports of the government survey. However, the author’s argument does not seem well thought through, and he neglects several possibilities that may weaken the argument.

First of all, the author has compared the company with another company called Panoply Industries. The author has mentioned that 30 percent more on-the-job accidents are reported by the Butler Manufacturing company than at the Panoply Industries. The author has also claimed that due to one-hour shorter working time in Panoply Industries, it has less on-the-job accidents. But what if the Butler Manufacturing has less advanced machinery as compared to the Panoply Industries? If this was the case then workers at the Butler manufacturing would work for more high-risk jobs and the chances of on-the-job accidents would, of course, be high and shortening of the working time will not solve the problem. Hence, the author needs to answer the questions which will conclude that the comparison between Panoply Industries and Butler manufacturing is justifiable.

Furthermore, the author has mentioned reports of recent government studies to strengthen his argument. The study reports fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers as significant contributing factors for many on-the-job accidents. From which he lands over the conclusion that shortening of each of its work shifts by one hour will reduce on-the-job accidents. But what if the workers did not sleep in that one extra hour? Then the problem will not get solved and the amount of work done presently will also get reduced than before.

The author also needs to answer, what are the current working hours for the workers? Except for the working hours if the rest of the time of the day is well enough for other daily activities including sufficient sleep then shortening of an hour will be a total waste of time as well as work for the company. It is also possible that the workers become lazy because of fewer working hours and working much less as compared to their potential. Hence, the author needs to consider these points before recommending the solution.

Thus, the author should not make any hasty decisions about shortening the working time of shift by an hour, as it may lead to the loss of the company. Issues like this should be thoroughly investigated before the author’s recommendation is put into practice.