Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students - like people in general - prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

The author claims that specifying all required courses and eliminating elective courses by Colleges and universities will provide clear guidance to students as students prefer to follow directions than making their own decisions. Surely, this claim does seem convincing at first but from further analysis, I would not agree completely with the author's point of view.

Firstly, the author has provided the reason for eliminating the elective courses to provide clear guidance for students. But many colleges and universities have a separate counseling department that works for giving guidance to students. Hence, in this case, even though the students have the freedom to choose subjects of their choice, they are able to make a good decision. Thus, without eliminating the elective courses, a college or a university can provide clear guidance for their students.

Secondly, the reason presented seems to be abiding by the given claim. As the students are more influenced by the choices of their fellow colleagues and tend to change their opinions according to others’ preferences. Due to which the student won’t be able to make a fair choice and inhibit his learning to the opinions of others. In order to avoid this, it will be a good choice if colleges and universities specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students. This will prevent the students from following directions rather than making their own decisions.

Furthermore, it is important to note that a college or a university has to provide sufficient knowledge about the course for which a student has opted. Hence it is necessary for the University to provide the students with fundamental knowledge of the course in order to make wise decisions while selecting the electives. For instance, in a professional course like Engineering, the students are given the option of choosing the electives during the final year only. This is because the junior students are neophytes and hence lack enough knowledge of the course to choose the electives. Thus, colleges and universities must provide students basic knowledge about the course, instead of eliminating the elective courses, in order to make them capable of making a fair choice between the subjects.

To sum up, Colleges and universities should provide guidance to the students for the selection of electives, also with it the basic knowledge of the course is essential. Moreover, at times the claim seems to be correct as too many choices might confuse the students and hence will prefer the following direction rather than making their own decisions.