When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

The author suggests that the development of modern buildings is more important as compared with the old historic buildings and hence a preference should be given to modern development over the preservation of historic buildings. I would like to partially agree with the author based on the following points.

Firstly, the preservation of old historic buildings is very important for protecting history. They serve as symbols of valuable culture. An Individual after knowing about the history of his Land will make him more loyal towards it. For example, if we do not preserve the forts built at the time of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, an Indian warrior, we might not remember every detail about the struggles and worships he had while building the 'Maratha Empire'. These historical monuments link us with their historical stories which help to understand and respect people who lived in different eras. Thus, preserving the old historic buildings is everyone's duty.

In addition to that historic buildings are also beneficial as a source of income to the nation. They attract a huge number of tourists which contribute to the economic growth of the nation. It increases different job opportunities, and also develops the surrounding areas. For instance, Agra, a city in India has developed because of the Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of the World. Taj Mahal has huge historical value and is the biggest tourist attraction in India. Thus, preserving historic buildings not only nurture historical believes but also benefits the nation.

In contrast to that, if one has to choose between modern development and the preservation of historic buildings, the needs of the nation's people should be taken into consideration. We all have learned that food, cloth, and shelter are the three basic needs of any human being. If these needs are not fulfilling, preferring modern development over the preservation of historic buildings is justifiable. For instance, in a poor country like Pakistan where the infrastructure is not much developed, instead of protecting these old blocks of buildings it's important to provide proper shelter to the country people. Thus, preferring modern development over the preservation of the historic building is situation dependent.

In conclusion, the preservation of old historic buildings is important, but if the basic needs of the nation's people are not satisfying then modern development has to be given precedence.