If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Any human lives his life to achieve the desired goal. He takes big or small steps to accomplish it. Keeping this in mind, the author's statement seems agreeable. But after analyzing the other side of the coin, the statement seems to be objectionable.

A specific path needs to be followed in order to achieve the desired goal, whether it is big or small. That path may not always be straight forward. Sometimes, people need to sacrifice their comfort to achieve a particular goal. In this case, if a person surrenders himself at any stage by giving priority to comfort then that will not be reasonable. For example, Akshay Kumar, an Indian film actor, had delivered five consecutive flops at the starting of his career. If he would have given up at that stage, he would never become a well-known actor. Considering this, one may say that, if a goal is worthy then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

There are both just as well as unjust means to accomplish a goal, but it is totally dependent on the circumstances. For instance, in India during the freedom struggle, many activists like Subash Chandra Bose, Chandrashekar Azad, Shivaram Rajguru, Bhagat Singh fought for independence without even thinking of their lives. During those, they had to use unlawful practices and even went to jail to achieve the goal of purna Swaraj. Their ways were unlawful, but looking at the big picture of purna Swaraj these seemed to be plausible and justified.

However, it is not always correct to say that any means taken to attain a goal are justifiable. Sometimes people get so frantic to attain the goal that they even lose their mind and take immoral actions that might harm society or themselves. For instance, many students cheat on exams to secure higher marks. Although by following these unfair methods it is even possible to secure the first rank, it hampers the learning process of students. Hence, the way of pursuing that position will never be justifiable. Similarly, in any case, an immoral approach to achieve any goal is not acceptable as it might affect the society or the person itself.

To sum up, it is not always justifiable to take any means to attain a worthy goal. Although an individual must recheck the consequences before following any path in order to achieve a goal, as blindly following them might lead to adverse effects on the society or the individual.