The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth.

The statement that the most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth is very strong and might not always be true. There are many other ways by which one could understand contemporary culture. We will discuss the same in the further passage.

There are different religions and their traditions all over the world. Culture is one of the most essential aspects of an individual’s life. People belonging to different religions have different culture and traditions which they follow from years. Someone has said, “Time changes everything”, similarly with time these traditions and culture have also changed. For instance, in India there is a Hindu festival called Pola, in this festival, people worship Bull in their farms but in this world of contemporary culture, it is a bit different. Nowadays, there are Idols of these animals readily available in the market which are bought in the house and are worshipped of. In festivals like this, there is no place where the youngsters have any role to play. Thus giving importance to their trends will not help in understanding the contemporary culture.

Secondly, the cultural rituals and traditions are mostly followed by the elders and are taught to the youngsters. Thus, the elders contribute more towards the culture and teach the youth to do so. Every cultural ritual being conducted has its meaning which the elders understand more and if only they are successful in passing this knowledge correctly to the youths this ritual will not die in the future. For instance, in India Ganesh Chaturthi is one of the famous festivals celebrated with joy all over the world. In this people worship the idol of Lord Ganesh. Some youths misunderstand the tradition and make noise pollution by playing loud music on roads. Thus as the society, whether it be modern or old, constitutes of both the elders and youths - the analysis of only the youths trends will definitely not give a correct understanding of the culture in this contemporary world.

In contrast, sometimes studying the trends of the youths helps in understanding contemporary culture. The youngsters are the future of the country and studying their trends will give sound knowledge of the contemporary culture. For instance, Shiv Jayanti festival, on this day people worship the idol of Ruler Shivaji and remember their sacrifice in the freedom struggle. The way this festival is carried out by the youths is a bit different from what it was in the olden days. Nowadays the youths help the needy and poor on this day and provide them with some things which they feel are important for their living. By doing this good work they feel like they will make Shivaji Maharaj happy in the heaven. Thus studying the trends of the youths will give the knowledge of the transformations taking place in the contemporary culture.

In conclusion, yes it is an effective way to understand a contemporary culture by analysing the trends of its youth, but not the most effective ones. This modern society is made up of both elders and youths. Thus, a proper analysis will be to analyse the trends of both groups.