The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

With the pollution level and the problems associated with it rising to new levels on a daily basis, it has become absolutely essential to adopt ways to ameliorate the situation. One of the reasons of environmental problems is undoubtly the consumer-generated wastes, be it the decomposable matters or the non-decomposable ones. I concord with the author's opinion about imposing limits on the amount of trash that would be accepted from each household, in order to solve environmental problems caused by those.

First of all, consumer may actually respond to such laws by decreasing their consumption of non-essential materials, which would mean reduced wastes. Also, consumers may seek alternative arrangements to rid of the wastes, and the authorities would benefit from suggesting ways to the consumers by which they may be able to do so. For example, farmers in my country are prompted to have a waste pit in their backyard to decompose biodegradable materials, so that they can get rid of such wastes, and as an added advantage can produce organic manure for use in their fields. Additionally, the government is also promoting the generation and use of alternative energy in the local level as a potential remedy for both environmental problems and energy crisis. Households are encouraged to have latrine pits and install biogas plants to generate energy independently. This has actually been implemented in various parts of the country and has been successful in serving its purpose. Furthermore, with the enactment of limitations, consumers may be inclined to recycle and reuse the materials in an attempt to reduce the amount of waste, instead of discarding them after one time use.

Apart form imposing limits on the amount of trash, it would also be prudent to find substitutes for the products, of the likes of polyethylene bags which result in wastes that are particularly environment non-friendly. Recently, with the government enforced ban on plastic bags, consumers have supplanted its use with paper bags or garment bags. This may serve as a useful means to reduce non-decomposable wastes which is after all greater of the two evils when it comes to causing environmental problems. Also, unlike plastic bags, its supplants, especially the garment bags can be reused multiple times, and above all is eco-friendly.

Every minute step taken either from individual or governmental level plays a substantial role in solving environmental problems. Imposing strict limits on amount of trash accepted form each household is one of the ways to solve the exigent environmental problems. Similarly, people should have a conscious attitude towards making environment better again, and government should employ all the viable measures to achieve so.