A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

School level students are young and only few among them have natural inclination to anything in particular. Additionally, only few among them tend to pursue their inclinations as a career path. Education is important in a sense that it not only prepares students for a career but also shapes their attitude, enhances their knowledge and builds them up for a bright and prosperous future.

School level education prepares students in a way that they are the jack of all trade but master of none. It provides them with the basics of what is required in the long run. As mentioned above, since students at young age hardly have any idea of what they are better suited to do or what they could excel at, it would be imprudent to develop curriculum for individual students as they could have a change of plan or heart in the future and may not pursue the same path that they have been trained for. So, a single national curriculum the exposes students to the basics of education is a better idea. This way they will have an idea about all the possibilities they could choose or adopt when they have a better understanding of things, which could be in college level.

In college, specialized courses could be made available so that students can hone their desired career pursuit. A national curriculum incorporating the essential courses that develops students intellectually, physically, morally and socially is well suited at school level. For example, in Nepal there is a single national curriculum for school level students. Until they complete their School Leaving Certificate exams, all the students are required to adhere to the same curriculum. The curriculum is intended to expose students to wide array of subjects like Math, Science, English, Computers, Accounts, etc. Also, emphasis is given to extracurricular activities to allow students to play with their interests and their strengths. This way, students will have a better sense of what to choose as their next step in college.

So, a national curriculum covering the important aspects for school level students is a better idea.