To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The author claims that the important characteristics of a society are best observed in its major cities. I, however, do not have absolute concordance with the author's sentiments.

Cities house a larger population from different walks of life. It is a cosmopolitan hub of people from different societal origin, and diverse cultural and religious background. Since we can observe all those diversities in the major cities, it is fitting to suggest that important characteristics of a society can be studied in the major cities.

However, unlike the suburbs, where people keep their friends, families and neighbors close and enjoy every other social, religious and cultural events joyfully and heartily; in cities, these aspects may not be followed with the same diligence and enthusiasm, as people, one way or the other are constantly short of time. Life is a shortcut in the cities, and the cultural aspects seem to be observed in just as haste as every other thing. Hence, a closer and accurate understanding of these characteristics may not be possible in the cities. Furthermore, some cultures are native to a place and can only be observed in the place of their origin, be it suburbs or cities. One particular example is the Bisket Jatra, a lively festival marking the beginning of the Nepalese new year, celebrated by the Newar community in the old town of Bhaktapur. One can study and understand this festival only in Bhaktapur as it is neither of significance to any other society nor celebrated by them. Additionally, certain societal characteristics like agriculture, superstitions and witchcraft can be seen only in some rural areas of Nepal. Though some of these are social evils, they are nonetheless characteristics of a society, and can be understood by the study of the society in which they are prevalent.

Although cities represent diversities in lifestyle and mores, it lacks authenticity and accuracy in their observations. Therefore, study of cities alone may not suffice for understanding the important characteristics of a society.