"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author of the argument has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that the best way to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians is to limit the number of mopeds on the streets during the busy summer months. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and hence not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the author's proposition is based on a questionable assumption that accidents occur mainly during the summer months, and that limiting the number of mopeds during that time will see to the reduction of accidents by 50 percent annually. However, there is no information in the passage to suggest the pattern of accients throughout the year. For all we know, majority of the accidents with mopeds could have occured during winter months when the streets are slippary due to snow. If this is the case, limiting moped numbers during summer months may not serve as an effective means to reduce accidents.

Additionally, the author implies that Balmer will be able to replicate the results of Neighboring Seaville. Since, there is no account of any similarities or differences between the towns in the argument, it is equally probable that the same law may engender different results in either towns. Hence, it would be imprudent for Balmer island to enforce the limits based solely on its success with the neighbours. Perhaps the Balmer island council could come up with alternate ways to deal with the situation. For example, the council could enforce mandatory safety measures like wearing safety gears while riding, issuing liscence after a thorough trial and such for the moped users. Furthermore, the council may need to dig deep into the cause of the accidents before attributing the fault entirely on the moped riders. It is plausible that the accidents were due to carelessness on part of the pedestrians. Pedestrians could have been lax about safety on the streets; jaywalking and ignoring the pedestrian bridge, and thus in part may have been responsible for the accidents. Instead of reducing the mopeds on street, the council could mandate rules for safety on the street.

The author has failed to acknowledge the impact of enforcing the limits on the island's moped rental companies. The law is one way or the other, likely impede the business of such companies and as a result could be met with resistance by them. The council should look further than mandating the limits and make sure that it does not give rise to new sets of problems.

To sum it up, various avenues are left unexplored in the passasge, due to which the conclusion seems feeble. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.