The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."-Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagr

There has been much debate on competition versus collaboration in the recent times. Darwin's theory of evolution postulates that there was significant competition for resources and genes for survival during evolution, and that the strongest ones prevailed. By that logic, competition forms the innate quality of our being. It does not need to be further inculpated in our young ones. What we are in dire need of these days is cooperation to enable us for co-existence.

Even during a young age, there is subtle hints of competition between children for toys, grades and things of that sort. Child sees his friend perform better in exam, and he is filled with a sense of competition. This is where proper guidance is required, for it may diverge into two paths from there on. The child is jealous of his friend and develops negativity for him, or through proper guidance of cooperation, both children simultaneously drive each other towards excellence. This shows that instilling cooperation in children is essential if they wish to coexist. Furthermore, when child grows up there is competition for good colleges and better jobs. He may land a lucrative job with his merit, but he can only succeed through cooperation with his colleagues. To excel at professional level, he has to be able to cooperate with people from different educational and social background. For example, a production manager at a factory has to work in collaboration with the human resource manager to see to it that sufficient workers are available in the production section.

Similarly, in politics, cooperation between incumbent leaders, opposition and citizens is of utmost importance for smooth governance. The government should value the opinions of opposition and citizens alike and aim for consensus, and the opposition and denizens should provide the government with constructive criticism for sustainable development. Additionally, politics has taken global stage in the contemporary situation, which demands cooperation between nations with variegated ideologies, culture and religion. Extreme competition, as that exhibited by Hitler is detrimental to not just a nation but the entire mankind. The catastrophe brought upon by Hitler's eccentricity, tyranny, and undue competition is a lesson that cooperation is the desired virtue if we are to avoid another mass destruction.

Competition is a virtue that drives us to strive for the best. On the other hand, cooperation is a virtue by which we aspire for the best not just for our self but for everyone around us. Mutual growth and development is today's need and to achieve that children should be instilled with cooperation.