Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

The author has presented two contradictory opinions regarding the important characteristic of an effective leader. On one hand it is suggested that a leader must be open to compromise in case of disparity of opinions and principles, and on the other hand, it is implicated he leader must be rigid in his objectives and not give in to public whim. I believe that it is essential for a leader to have his own vision and opinion, but it is equally imperative that he values the same of others'.

One particular example of leadership capitulating to public demand is the recent referendum of United Kingdom in which the public outvoted the government's original plan to remain a member of European Union. Prime-minister David Cameron yielded to majority votes against his policies, however, only time will tell whether this decision was a sensible one. In any case, a leader must value the opinions of his oppositions and that of public, however contradictory are those to his own. This will not only give an idea about public consensus but also help him to realize his shortcomings and overcome those in time for smooth functioning of the government. Furthermore, public these days are fairly intelligent and their opinions may actually be of tremendous help in dealing with various quagmires. Also, leadership may gradually denigrate towards despotic system if others' opinion are continually devalued and this will mark the end of freedom of speech and opinion in any country advocating democracy.

Nonetheless, there are plenty examples in history, of personalities who were uncompromising in their objectives and were ultimately successful in achieving their goals. With the results they engendered, I don't believe anyone would have minded their idiosyncrasies. For example, Mahatma Gandhi who was a strong advocate of non-violence stuck by it throughout his movements against the British regime in India. Ultimately, the British yielded to his quirky principles and left India for good.

Similarly, Abraham Lincoln continually championed for freedom for the Blacks, and at long last was successful in emancipating them. These leaders remain adhered to their principles and ideologies against all odds and are now regarded as the epitome of effective leadership.

All in all, whether following public opinion or adhering by one's principle, is entirely subjective to the situation at hand. Hence, an effective leader must be open to both the options and strive for a progressive future.