“As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability for humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.”Discuss the extent to which you agree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

The boon and bane paradox associated with technology has been widespread for quite some time now. The author's claim is one of the scenarios that reflect the same. It implies that technology has formed an indispensable part of human life such that, we may not be able to function without it. I for one, however, have ambivalent opinion about the statement.

Technology is the fruit of human contemplation followed by diligent efforts to materialize it. It developed gradually from someone's ability to understand gravity from something so mundane as a falling apple, or using the ubiquitous water and wind to generate electricity. Throughout the phases of technological development, humans have continuously displayed improved thinking and understanding capabilities and have always strived for the best. Use of technology is extensive in various fields like medical science and research. Also, these fields observe technological developments on a regular basis, and if not for those developments, there wouldn't have been vaccines to prevent and treat life threatening diseases or identification and study of those diseases would have been a distant reality to begin with. Furthermore, we would have been wondering about the Moon from afar, let alone send a robot to Mars, if not for technological advances in relevant fields. This shows that some avenues thrive better by the use of technology, although the brain behind them is humans'.

Nonetheless, when it comes to our day to day activities, we have somewhat unhealthy dependence on technology. For example, my sister, who goes to high school, asked me for a calculator once, while she was solving some maths problems. I handed her the calculator, but immediately got annoyed to see that see had fervently asked for it only to calculate the product of 3 and 5. Additionally, the proliferation of internet and smartphones has rendered verbal communication to a bare mininum, particularly among youths. People no longer bother to remember phone numbers, as there are cell phones to do the needful.

Nevertheless, I believe that we are still in the learning phase of properly incorporating technology in our day to day lives, without having an unhealthy obsession to it. But, I don't believe that technology has deteriorated our thinking abilities, because despite having reached a great height of technological advancement, we still aspire to outdo ourselves and continuously imput our efforts towards it.