A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The author claims that there should be a standard national curriculum for all the students until they enter college. I agree with this statement insofar that the standard curriculum should be flexible and have room for accommodating modifications or additions deemed necessary by concerned authorities.

The purpose of school education is not to create specialists at tender age. Students should have freedom to explore their interests and talents as well. Hence, a curriculum designed for school level should be an all encompassing one: it should be able to instill in children, knowledge, values, and attitudes that we would like to see in the generation succeeding us, and also give them space and opportunities to follow their passion. In my opinion, a jack of all trade and master of none is a good output of a school level curriculum, and if the national curriculum can target that, it may very well serve its purpose. Also, a national curriculum is an effective way to evaluate the performance of school students. Schools throughout the nation will have a distinct benchmark for assessing their students capabilities. This would aid in the periodic revision of curriculum to match the students' capabilities. An additional advantage of this provision is that the college authorities will have ease formulating their curriculum based on the performance indicator of the school students. This way, students will have ease acclimatizing to the academic curriculum when they transition from school life to college life.

However, a national curriculum, especially a rigid one is not without flaws. Firstly, it would preclude the inculsion of programs and courses that are primarily of regional and local significance. For example, a national curriculum may not be able to incorporate the regional dialects, histories, and mores. People belonging to that region would certainly want to inculcate these aspect of their lives in their children. If the curriculum is rigid and shut to revision at the regional level, children may be deprived of learning these thing in an academic environment. Furthermore, when formulated at the national level, parents and teachers will have little say in what goes up in the curriculum. It will probably be formed by a high ranking official or a lobbyist and will be a subject of political dissidence from time to time, a scenario common to where I come from.

To sum it all up, there are both pros and cons to adopting a national curriculum. But a flexible, all encompassing and periodically revised national curriculum will have an advantageous impact on the academic, social and moral development of students, such that it can be adopted with positive reviews throughout the nation.