Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application. Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Researches and discoveries are basis of progress and development of any nation. I agree with the claim made in the issue that investigations should not be limited to imminent practical applications. However, problems which needs immediate solutions should not ignored. Some imminent issues at hand needs to be resolved immediately. The reason given for the claim does not appear cogent, as years of research in any field gives idea of outcome that can be expected. I would like to explore this in the following essay.

First and foremost, researches made in haste may not give reliable result. The discoveries need time and patience and when they deprived of these factors, it's outcome will be flawed. For example, the scientists are suppose to assemble a spaceship with travelling speed of light year and time of a year is given to them. We can guess the reliability of result.

Besides this, if researchers would limit their goals only to imminent applications then vision for future would be lost. There will be no vision of progress for next 2-3 decades. In this way nation may not be able to develop. Additionally, the fundamental theories had been ahead of time. For example, if Alan Turing had limited his wisdom of decoding problem during world war, more lives would have been lost and we may be living in an era where computer is yet to be invented.

Lastly, the problems which need immediate solution through research cannot be ignored. There are many disease for which cure are to be researched as soon as possible as lives of many people are at stake. For example, the Zika virus , prevention to this virus is of high importance. We cannot afford to claim more lives. These type of problems cannot be ignored and needs vigorous research to achieve the successful result.

To conclude, both long and short term researches are important for the society. They are like two sides of a coin. Effacing any of the side will make the coin worthless.