The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. "Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little i

The passage concludes that butter should be replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants, as customers do not have any issues in using margarine in place of butter. While at first reading the argument seems quite conceivable, a closer look spells out a number of assumptions that could undermine its assessment.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the memorandum that butter replacement has been done in the southwestern United States. According to the manager the experiment is successful as there are very less complaints made by customers. Maybe this change is accepted by the people of southwestern region but it does not mean that same change will be successful in other parts of United States too. There are chances that replacement may not be accepted by people; thus, this idea will not work with efficacy. Therefore, before permanently replacing butter with margarine, the restaurant should make this change on temporary basis. Accordingly, changes should be implemented.

Secondly, the manager is saying that only 2 percent customers complaint on not getting butter. Perhaps many customers are assuming that soon they will start getting butter. Moreover, many customers do not complaint regarding it, but they may stop coming to the restaurant as they are not happy with replacement of butter with margarine. This way restaurant may loose its regular customers. The memorandum do not mention regarding the increase or decrease in number of customers after the changes has been made. Thus, the number of customers should be tracked after and before the replacement.

Lastly, the memorandum mentions that customers may not be able to distinguish between butter and margarine. Maybe customers are able to know the difference between butter and margarine but they are not making any complaints. Again, this will result in dissatisfaction among customers. In result, they will stop coming to the restaurant. Customers may file case against restaurant as they are fibbed. The restaurant should clearly mention this change. Moreover, survey should be conducted to know about the reactions of people on this change. This will help to know whether it is liked or disliked by the customers.

To conclude, though it may seem that author has done some research before backing the prospect of making permanent replacement of butter with margarine, an in-depth scrutiny reveals that none of the arguments put forth are backed by exhaustive analysis; thus, providing little credible support. As it stands, the recommendation looks flawed in multiple respects and may not give the results the author expects.