When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you

Historical building provides information regarding the history of mankind. These buildings not only provide information about the living style of our forefathers but also help us to study the eye opening architectures of the past. It is a topic of consistent debate, whether government should demolish historic buildings or should preserve it. In my opinion, government should try to maintain balance between the past, present and future requirements of a nation.

First and foremost, there are many constructions from the past that helped us to understand the history. For example, the Stonehenge in Britain is world's most astounding construction, which baffle all of us till today. It is still ambiguous to historians that how people of that age constructed such architecture when few construction tools were available. The Sphinx and Pyramids of Egypt are also great buildings which helped to gather information about the civilization of that time. Apart from these great buildings mentioned above there are many other less known monuments which contributes to enhance the knowledge of history of our ancestors.

Besides this, demolishing historical buildings is not a good decision although it will serve the purpose of present society. There are many forts and palaces which are converted into hotels, and they also house malls within it. Thus, new construction is done while keeping the old building intact. This is the best solution, as it is striking a balance between the historical edifice and present needs of a society. This type of idea, augments tourism and also provides employment to large number of local people.

Last but not the least, it is not easy to maintain such balance between the past and present. For example, if there is an oil rig underneath a historical architecture. In such case, is it justified to demolish the old building? Or government should preserve the architecture and should let go the oil rig? It is a difficult situation, wherein government should try to keep the building intact and at the same time should try to extract the oil.

To sum up, I would like reiterate my point, that government should try to keep balance between past, present, and future requirements of a society. Demolishing a historical architecture is like erasing a part of history. Hence, old buildings should be preserved and as discussed above can be used for the modern purposes by not impacting the architecture of building.