When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are a number of supporters of the fact that as our life constantly changes due to technological developments so should architecture. While it is hard to disagree with the opinion that making people’s lives more comfortable is vital, I believe that alternative ways could be found to preserve historic buildings, on the one hand, and introduce more convenience dictated by changing ambiance, on the other hand.

How often in your life have you had thoughts about how nice it would be if you could see with your own eyes the buildings of some ancient civilizations? How much more do you believe we would be able to know about humans’ history as long as all the architecture ever existed had survived until today? Any thing that is the result of a human creative process carries information about the period when it was created. And most people agree about the importance of history in our lives as it helps us to avoid those mistakes we once made. By destroying historic buildings with the aim of making our existence more comfortable, we are risking of leaving our children without an opportunity to be able to learn history and avoid important mistakes.

It would be rather narrow-minded to assume that there are no other ways how to preserve historic architecture without annihilating it. Modern technologies allow to organize a place of any form and size in such a way that it is could serve multiple of purposes. Take for example Japan, where people may fit a bedroom, a kitchen and a bathroom into a space no larger than twenty squared meters. This is allowed by transforming furniture that is currently in a large supply.

Many city authorities also follow a practice when they develop whole modern areas with skyscrapers while preserving a historic part of the city. For instance, Seoul is divided into two parts by the river. People do business in a new part, Gangnam, but at the same time it does not derive them with the opportunity to enjoy the architecture of the old part. Besides, this old part of the city is a good attraction for tourists and tourism is a crucial source of financial resources. Another example is Shanghai where new modern area, Pudong, was established from the scratch without destroying a historic center. Thus, those people who find it more comfortable to live and work in newly built buildings, may choose to do this in a new area of Shanghai, while those who enjoy the beauty and magnificence of historic buildings prefer to stay in the old part of the city.

To sum up, I strongly believe that any destructive action is reasonable only in cases when other options are exhaustive. However, I see a lot of ways when preservation of historic buildings may be accompanied by improvements in our lives from the perspective of making it more comfortable and consistent with people’s needs.