Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is often claimed that limiting the period of time during which one can be in power is auspicious for development in almost all fields of life whether it is entrepreneurship, politics or any other area. I strongly support this point of view although I also believe that there must be some exceptions from this approach.

One of the reasons why it is beneficial when those who are in power leave their position after some time is that any knowledge and experience can become outdated. A good leader can simply become too old to catch up with all the changes we experience nowadays. At the same time, young leaders may be more aware of people’s needs and thus bring new experience and skills that more senior population may not possess. Thus, new leadership indeed may facilitate revitalization of a firm, a region or even a country and make them more successful.

It is also a common view that frequent change of positions is favorable for leaders themselves as this allows them to constantly upgrade their own skills. Recent policy in South Korea that forces the heads of public authorities to change the post they hold after a three-year period pursues primarily an above-mentioned goal. When a person faces new challenges all the time, it enables him or her to gain new knowledge and experience. Ultimately, a leader becomes more effective, and a broader range of skills allows him or her to pursue better career in the future.

At the same time, I think that any leader must be given a chance to be reelected. For some person, five years may seem short enough to reach a success or to bring a company or a country to a new level of development. In this case, not giving a leader an opportunity to extend the time of his or her leadership may have an opposite effect. A person may be not motivated enough to work hard as he or she will understand that the period of time is too short to make any changes. I believe this is one of the main reasons why most democratic countries allow their leaders to be reelected for the second term. This does not only allow a leader to implement longer-term programs but also motivates them to be more effective and productive in order to prolong their leadership.

Thus, while there are a lot of arguments in favor of limited period during which one can be in power, it is clear there are some advantages of enabling a person to prolong the time of his or her leadership. It allows a leader to be more motivated, on the one hand, and work more effectively and productively, on the other hand.