Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Some people argue that it is necessary that educational institutions prevent children from choosing those fields of study in which it may be difficult for them to succeed. Although providing kids with some guidance on what may fit them best is crucial, I strongly believe that children should be personally responsible for making a choice about what to study.

First of all, it may be rather complicated to estimate children’s abilities in a particular field of study. It often happens that a child who did not possess strong skills in math in the past, suddenly becomes extremely interested in the course. This strong interest can motivate a kid to overcome all the difficulties with the subject that he or she experienced before. If educational institutions prevent this child from pursuing math studies, a child may never know about his or her abilities.

Dissuading kids from choosing a particular field of study for the reasons that there is little demand for such kind of specialists is also unreasonable. Our world is changing constantly, and those fields of study that may be considered not popular by educational institutions at the moment, may become very demanded and highly paid in a few years.

Finally, it is a common opinion that children should learn by making their own mistakes. Even if they are not going to succeed in the future in the field of study that they personally chose in the past, they will understand that this was their personal choice. They say that it is better to try and be disappointed than never try. On the other hand, if a child is persuaded by its school to choose classes that he or she is not interested in and ultimately this child will not become successful, then he or she may start to blame themselves for not following their heart. They may also start to blame their school for convincing them to choose the wrong path.

To sum up, I think that it is vital for educational institutions to inform a kid about those fields of studies where the kid will be able to take advantage of his or her greatest abilities. However, thorough examination of the issue shows that it is more important to leave the responsibility for choosing the field of study for the kids themselves. This will enable to prevent situations when children are not able to discover some hidden potential or when they follow the advice of their school that may be wrong in the end.