Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the development of technology it has become quite easy to gain fame and recognition nowadays. Multiple social networks allow people to become celebrities with just little efforts. Indeed, young people are creating internet blogs about travelling or cooking, posting videos about how they sing or dance or just publish their photos and in some time they already have hundreds or even thousands of fans. But is this immediate fame

We live in the world that changes so rapidly that most of us cannot even catch up with all these changes. Today, being a vegetarian may be trendy and a person who writes articles about how to eat properly may be at the edge of fame. However, another day the World Health Organization may reveal that those who do not eat meat risk to develop some dangerous disease, and those who were big fans of vegetarian diet will switch to another blogger who posts videos with different recipes that contain meat. As a result, a vegetarian blogger who used to be popular and even made money from publishing his articles, may in the end become completely forgotten and lose his or her source of income. As trends change so fast, it is very important to try to identify those fields that will enable a person to earn money and be satisfied in the long rather than in the short run.

Another important thing is that being famous may be associated with some negative consequences. It is unlikely there is someone who has never heard about actors or models who became famous when they were young but then suddenly lost their popularity. Quite often when this happens it is hard to overcome especially for children. Such loss of fame and recognition may result in psychological problems or alcohol or drug abuse. Thus, one must think twice whether being famous even for a short period of time is really worth it. In many cases pursuing some ordinary but more stable and long-term career may bring more pleasure to one’s life.

Finally, being famous is hard. One should be prepared to a lot of attention and critiques that is impossible to avoid once a person gains popularity. To cope with all this, one should be very strong morally. Those who feel vulnerable to have their personal life disclosed to public attention should better pursue more realistic goals that once gained require less attention from other people.