The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument claims that two main reasons why the customers of Happy Pancake House do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter are either that they do not understand the difference between these two products or they use the word butter for both. While these explanations may be credible, there are other possible reasons for the lack of complaints.

One of such reasons is that consumers are not too meticulous in the choice between butter and margarine. They come to Happy Pancake House with the purpose of having good pancakes while butter is considered as a supplementary product. In other words, they do not care whether they eat pancakes with butter or margarine and thus do not consider it is worth complaining about such policy of the company. Indeed, is it reasonable to complain about something that does not change significantly the taste of the main product that customers buy? If the author had provided an evidence that changing butter for margarine leads to substantial change in the taste of pancakes, the author’s argument would have been more convincing.

Secondly, customers may simply find margarine better tasting or healthier than butter. Nowadays, more and more people are refusing from eating animal-derived food because they find it not good for their health or because the production of such food contradicts their visions of humanity. Indeed, it is reasonable to assume that customers support such change in the company’s policy and this is a major reason why they do not complain about it. If the author have claimed that most of people prefer butter instead of margarine, his or her explanations of why only two percent of people complain would have been more plausible.

Finally, when driving his or her conclusion, the author is making an assumption that if people do not complain about the change in the company’s policy then they find it proper. This is a rather strong assumption. Not every person who finds some policy incorrect takes actions to share his or her opinion about it. Indeed, a customer may be in a hurry to make any complaints or simply believe that this does not worth his or her time and energy. Also, the procedures of how to leave a complaint may not be transparent enough. In the end, a person may be just too shy to tell a manager of the restaurant that he or she finds new policy improper.

To sum up, though the author’s explanations of the phenomenon are valid they are not exhaustive and are based on a very strong assumption. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened by making it clear that margarine changes the taste of pancakes, that consumers can easily distinguish between butter and margarine and that in most cases people complain when they are not happy with some policy of a company.