Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument is skeptical about the opinion that a dairy diet that is rich in calcium and vitamin D is effective in decreasing the risk of osteoporosis. He bases his conclusion on the results of the study that has showed that people who consumed more dairy products experienced higher rate of fractures considered to be a symptom of the disease. I find the author’s conclusion not convincing enough as it is based on several crucial assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that while dairy products contain a lot of calcium and vitamin D there may not be other elements that may increase the risk of osteoporosis. Consider for instance that dairy products with a high content of fats are harmful for people who are likely to develop osteoporosis. In this case, the advantages of consuming large amounts of necessary vitamins and minerals that a dairy diet is rich of may be well outweighed by the disadvantages of high level of fats that some dairy products usually contain. On the other hand, those dairy goods that are low in fats may still be healthy and effectively decrease the risk of osteoporosis. If the author had provided the evidence that there were no harmful elements in dairy food that the participants of the study consumed, his or her argument would have been more plausible.

Another crucial assumption the argument is based on is that the study the author mentions was carried out with duly diligence. Can one be sure that treated and controlled groups were chosen properly. It is reasonable to assume that those people who consumed less dairy products lived in the areas where environment is better from the perspective of developing the disease. If this is true, it is wrong to claim that a dairy diet was responsible to the increase in the risk of osteoporosis. Probably, such a difference between two groups is explained by other conditions. If there had been evidence that the results of the study are reliable, the conclusion driven by the author would have been more credible.

Finally, it may be that a dairy diet is only harmful when one consumes milk and dairy products in extremely large amounts. Indeed, they often say that everything is good in limited amounts. Can it be that those people who experienced the increase in the risk of osteoporosis consumed too much of milk? Is it possible that a dairy diet is healthy up to some extent? All these questions need to be answered before one can judge how plausible the author’s conclusions are.

Thus, the author’s argument does not seem convincing. There is lack of evidence to exclude other possible reasons why people who consumed more dairy products experienced a higher risk of developing the disease. The argument could have been strengthened if the author had provided supportive evidence that the dairy products consumed by the participants of the study did not contained some harmful elements, that the results of the study are not spurious and that those who consumed more milk did it in reasonable amounts.