Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Some people believe that students must be obliged to choose classes from various fields even those not directly connected to their specialization while pursuing their higher level of education. While it is hard to disagree that being a person with a broad rather than narrowed knowledge provides one with a lot of advantages, I could not accept the point of view that taking courses outside one’s main field of study should be mandatory. It would be more reasonable to give students an opportunity to choose such courses if they would like so and feel they have enough time for that.

First of all, becoming a specialist in any field requires a lot of efforts and time. At the same time, the period during which we study is limited to learn everything. Taking courses from programs that do not relate to the major field of study means sacrificing the time that could otherwise be spent on going more deeply into one’s specialization. In the end, a student may graduate with broad knowledge but not enough educated to be considered a specialist in his or her field. Consider a situation when you come to a doctor. Of course, all of us would like a doctor to be friendly and polite. But are these qualities more important than knowledge that this doctor possess? Who would you choose, an easy-going doctor who may provide you with a wrong diagnosis or a rude one who will treat you properly from your disease?

Secondly, at a time when students pursue higher degree they are mature enough to take their own decisions about whether they want or not to take courses that are not directly related to their major. If one considers that having broad knowledge is important as it may help to develop better career or get valuable connections, then he or she may decide to attend these courses. This will allow students to think strategically, make their own decisions and learn by their own mistakes. It would be a better option to inform students about the advantages that courses outside the major might bring. But the final choice should be after the students. In the end, a student may be interested in courses that are not offered by the university and would rather spend his or her time on activities outside the university.

Thus, I believe that universities should follow more flexible policy when students are allowed to choose themselves whether to attend classes outside their field of study or better devote this time to go more deeply in their major or to pursue activities outside the university. This will not only enable them to become better specialists but will also give them an opportunity to develop strategic thinking and learn how to make their own decisions. This will also bring advantages to the university that will be able to gain better reputation among its students.