Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should universities require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study? Although the implementation of the policy promises some benefits for alumnae and for society as a whole, I disagree with the policy due to the fact that overall level of quality of students' preparation might decrease due to the fact that additional time ought to be devoted to a variety of outside courses.

To begin with, the proposed policy has many supporters, in particular, because it embodies the dream of enlightenment - creation of truly educated person. From this viewpoint, a graduate student ought to have knowledge in many fields from math and physics to humanitarian sciences such as literature and history and even the arts. Those highly educated person will manage to improve society be more responsible in his or her actions and decisions. In other words, the fulfillment of the policy may speed up social development and alleviate existing problems, however, is this policy has no drawbacks?

The answer on this question is "no" due to the fact that not all students have equal inclinations and motivation to studying, especially, courses which have not explicit connection with future job. Consequently, mechanical implementation of the policy may lead to the situation when students neglect the courses outside their major field of studying. For example, a person who pursues degree in engineering may decide that there is no use for him in studying, for instance, history or biology. In the same vein, a student who is going to be a musician and plays violin may dismiss physics as a subject which seems to be useless for his future occupation. In this case, the proposed policy will not bring expected results.

Furthermore, the likeliness exists that the policy may have a negative impact on level of students' preparation because the amount of time devoted on studying will, probably, remain the same; therefore, time which otherwise will be allotted to major subjects will be re-distributed to courses outside the main field. In this case, a surgeon may learn less about physiology and anatomy but more about astronomy. Moreover, some of students are gifted and have a strong inclination to a certain scientific field; the implementation of the policy may distract those prodigies from their endeavor. For example, imagine that for instant, Mozart would have been forced to study math and biology instead of creating his wonderful masterpieces, today some other talented students in chemistry and other subjects may be distracted from their work.

In conclusion, although the proposed policy has many proponents who believe that this policy may bring benefits to society, I strongly aver that the policy may not only be useless but even harmful for us due to the reasons mentioned above.