Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting y

I do not support the idea that the universities should require every student to learn a variety of courses except for the classes the student majors in. As far as my concern, learning is not only a process of reconizing oneself, but also a process of knowing others as well as recongnizing the society, so it should obey the rule of studying. If necessary, a student should learn more courses, or it would be a burden for him/her. Of course the necessity depends on the majors and intersests of the students. I will address my views about the necessity as below.

To begin with, as university students, they already have the direction of studying, which is important for both of the high education institution and them. Once the major determined, they would study in different fields. While due to the development of the society especcially the booming technology, there are some interdispline coureses which need student have lots of multi-knowledge restored. For exapmle, the Artificial Intelegence is this kind of major that demands students have both the knowledge of computer sciecnce and anthropology. While in lots of universities, these are two majors. Likewise, there are some new development of majors. Like the archeology, more and more students are requrired specific skills in chemichal analyzation and other skills in chemistry in that more and more discoveries of archeology demand interdispline students to do more research.

On the other hand , if the student is already studying in a specific area of the field, I believe there is no necessary to requre him/her other courses to disturb the study. Especciall for Ph.Ds, as they are already in the place where even their tutuor could not help them sovle some problems, once they get other burdens like the courses outside the fields they are in, it would be a disaster for for them to further their own study. As my concern, this would be a lost for both of the univesities and students in that every effort they both take in these courese is useless. However, this condtion I disscussed is not suitable for all of the students who majoring in a very specific field as the universities should take their interest in account. Even the Einstein played violin, the students should find a way to help themselves no matter on study or life. As violin for Einstein was a way of relax, the students could also get another courses to relax themselves. There is a course named happiness in Harvard populated among the students, this is the case that the sutdents find a way out of pressure. Moreover, these extra courses should not be the burden of students.

Finally, I should make clear the necessity of learning courses outside the students' field of study which I agree in part. In my opinion, for students in the lower grade like freshmen and sophormore, they should learn some other courses, later they would enter the professionall study. As for the graduates, their curriculum should be depend on the major, if it is a interdispline major, they should learn more courses excpet their own field as their filed is alreadly an area acrossed several fileds. For Ph.Ds, they should focus on their own study, as for other courses, it should depend on their own intersets.In all, I do not belive every student should learn other coureses outside their own majors as I disscussed.