The US should dispense with regulated speed limits on interstate highways, since drivers rarely abide by them.

There is an opinion that some regulations should be abolished because people do not follow them. For example, some people claim that it is reasonable to get rid of any speed limits on interstate highways for the reason that a number of drivers still exceed them. However, thorough examination of the issue shows that there are more pros than cons in the situation when the regulation of speed is in force.

First of all, while some people may not follow existing regulation despite the penalties they are likely to face, there are still drivers who would rather limit their speed than pay a fine. Thus, the average speed on highways is lower than the one that would be when there is no regulation of speed. This makes the probability of traffic accidence lower and, thus, benefits the society. Refusing from speed limits, on the other hand, may facilitate abusive behavior by those drivers who now follow the existing rules.

Second, psychologists often claim that people’s behavior changes significantly in the absence of regulation. There is no guarantee that if the US government dispense with regulated speed limits drivers will not exceed these limits even more than they do now. If the size of the fine for high speed that is currently charged depends on how much you exceed speed limits, then in the absence of penalty drivers may start to exceed speed limits even more. In other words, the likelihood of paying a fine may prevent people from driving with extremely high speed.

Finally, the fact that there are some drivers that do not abide by the speed regulation in the US may be the result of the severity of the existing penalty. Probably, the problem is that fines are not high enough to prevent drivers from exceeding speed limits. In this case it would be more reasonable to analyze how increasing of the size of fine could contribute to the decrease of the average speed on interstate highways.

There are a number of studies showing strong positive correlation between the level of speed on the roads and the number of traffic accidence. If existing regulation does not allow to tackle the problem it does not mean that other instruments should not be developed and implemented. It would be reasonable to consider international experience and best practice, in particular, measures implemented by other countries that helped to solve the problem.

To sum up, there are strong arguments in favor of leaving and modernizing the existing regulation in the United States. Exceeding speed limits is a big problem that should be tackled to avoid an increase in traffic accidence. Leaving the problem as it is may result in significant economic and social consequences.