In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a common practice to refer to a beginner as not experienced enough to contribute to some work. Many superiors do not trust important projects to those newly employed because of lack of expertise of the latter. However, I strongly believe that the practice of involving beginners in projects is accompanied by more benefits than disadvantages, although it does not diminish the importance of experts.

First of all, those who are adept at some field are familiar with situations when one forgets to investigate at length issues that seem obvious to them. For instance, imagine a statistician who annually develops an index of a monthly amount of money needed for a person to survive. This statistician bases his or her calculations on the methodology that was developed long ago. Being so familiar with the methodology that he or she may not even think of how antiquated it may have become. On the other hand, a not experienced person who first sees the methodology may notice how it might contradict the reality. A beginner may contribute significantly to the improvement of the methodology such that it reflects the current conditions of people’s lives.

Secondly, beginners commonly are avid to show how hard-working they are and thus may contribute much more to the project than experts. For example, an experienced doctor who has delivered diagnoses thousands of times in his or her life may not pay a lot of attention to a patient and thus ultimately not consider some important symptoms. At the same time, a beginner who is afraid of making a mistake will treat any negligible symptom as an important one. In some situations, it may lead to the case when a beginner may deliver a more correct diagnosis compared to one of an experienced doctor.

At the same time, one should not underestimate the role of experts in any field. Although it is important to give beginners a chance to show themselves and take their opinion into account, it is obvious that those who have more expertise and experience are vital for a work to be done well. It is hard to imagine that those who want to undergo a plastic surgery will choose a surgeon with two years of experience. The more one practice in their work, the less likely they are going to make a mistake. It is like preparing for the GRE exam. A person who has not practiced at all, no matter how clever he or she is, has few chances to get a good score. Only with practice the probability of making a mistake decreases.

To sum up, I strongly support the idea that beginners are important in any sphere of our lives and from time to time their contribution may be greater than that of experts. However, while providing them with the opportunities to show themselves it is important for beginners to develop their knowledge and skills to once become an expert in their field.