Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that particular woven baskets that were previously considered to be made only by the Palean people, might actually be originated from other places as well. He supports his argument by claiming that some baskets were found in another village that the Palean people could only reach by crossing the river by boat and that there is no evidence that boats existed in Palea. The statement, however, is not entirely logically convincing as it bases on a number of assumptions.

First of all, the author’s argument is based on the assumption that after all the time that has passed since then, at least some fossils of ever existed boats must have remained. However, one may assume that if boats were made of wood it is possible that all of them were completely destroyed with time. The argument would have been more convincing if the author has provided some evidence that no matter how much time has passed, if the Palean people ever used boats it is necessary that there exists some evidence of this fact.

Secondly, the author assumes that all the territory that was occupied by the Palean people once, has been carefully checked by archeologists. It is equally possible, however, that not enough investigation has been carried out to prove the fact that the Palean people never used boats. Because the author’s statement lacks any evidence that no piece of the land was missed from archeologists’ attention, the conclusion that the author draws seems flawed.

Finally, when describing the river that separated the village of Palea from the village of Lithos, the author uses such words as “very deep and broad” that do not provide enough information on how deep and broad the Brim river actually was. Was it broad enough for the Palean people not to be able to cross it without any boat or other means of transport? Unfortunately, one is not able to answer this question without any specific numbers on the river’s depth and width. If the author has provided such information the argument would have been strengthened.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion does little to prove that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened by making it clear that there must have remained any evidence of the boats ever existed, that all the territory of the village of Palea was carefully checked and that it was really impossible to get to another village without a boat.