Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than their friends.

In today's world, it is a point of debate among the scholars on whether the students are affected by teachers more than by their friends. While some are of the viewpoint that teachers influence the students more as they are the ones that the students idolize, the others, however, believe that friends play comparatively greater role in shaping them. My opinion is tilted more towards the latter. There are myriad number of reasons for this belief, few of which I am going to explore in the following lines.

First and foremost, the students often feel more comfortable when they are around fellow students or their friends. The lack of comfort between a student and teacher cause a kind of gap. For instance, during school days, I used to appreciate the personality of my Physics teacher very much and wanted to inculcate the same values in myself. But, often it happened that I did not gather enough courage to get more comfortable in speaking with him due to the fear of how he would behave if I ask him a silly question.

Besides this, the interaction and the time spent together are the other factors that decide how persons are influence with others. Often people follow those with whom they spend most of their time. Since, the interaction between teacher and student is often very limited and that too only one way during the class, it is comparatively less likely that the student gets affected by his/her teacher. However, the friends are the ones who spend a lot of time together and share a lot of experiences doing so which help them learn do better.

Lastly, the most important factor to consider here is the competition that similarly situated people face with one another. The sense of competition affect them most and encourage them to do better in their lives. This winning attitude is lacking in a teacher student relation.

Based on the aforementioned arguments, I believe that the level of comfort, interaction and the competition that the friends bring with themselves is much more that it affects the students more than their teachers.