Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The argument concludes that Dr. Karp's way of doing research is more authenticated than Dr. Field's way of research. At first glance the the arguer seems to be correct but there are many loopholes. Many factors are not taken into consideration.

Firstly, Dr. Field did the research twenty years back. This is a long period of time to compare the way of study done by two examiners. Perhaps when Dr. Field did investigation at that time entire village may used to participate in the nurturing of children. However, now with the time way of bringing up children may have changed. Maybe when Dr. Karp reached the island he recorded this change. Thus, it cannot be concluded that Dr. Field's way is not valid as there are chances that both the researchers have done the study correctly.

Secondly, it may be possible that still whole village is looking after kids. But children do not recognize all of them and thus, more comfortable in talking about their biological parents. There are chances that Dr. Karp failed to make observation regarding contribution of other people in taking care of children, as he might be busy in conducting interviews.

Thirdly, the argument's result is based on the interview of children. Children are not reliable source, as there minds are fragile. They may forgot to mention other people rearing them. So depending upon the interview from them cannot be considered as reliable source. Moreover, the arguer did not mention the number and age of children that had been interviewed. No statistics is provided. It may be possible that only 2-3 children were interviewed and they may be 5-7 years old. Thus, Dr. Field's study seems to be more reliable source than Dr. Karp's research.

To sum up, the argument has been made without looking after many perspectives. The conclusion made is not cogent. There are many other factors which need to be considered before making any decision.