The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Every person admires hero or any famous personality and consider them as role model. Role model can be any famous person such as actors, political leaders, or any business tycoons. However, I believe that character of these famous personality cannot help to determine the character of people admiring them and considering them as role models. I would like to explore this further in following lines.

First and foremost, there are many famous personality considered as role models by numerous people but it is not necessary that they also follow the path taken by them. Take the example of Mahatma Gandhi. He is considered as hero by people all over the world. This does not mean that Gandhi's path of non-violence is followed by all of them. There are people who follow his path, on the other hand, there are some people who are not following his path though they admire him as a hero. Thus, role models cannot be considered as a true reflection of the society.

Besides this, take the example of a famous politician who is honest and works religiously for the welfare of the society. This does not indicate that people who admire him are veracious. If this was the case, there would be less corruption in the society. Moreover, many people would have contributed towards the progress of the nation but this is not the case. Similarly, if a leader is venal that does not imply that the whole society is corrupt.

Last but not the least, there are many actors who are admired because of the roles they portray in the movies. But in real life they may be totally different from character played by them. Many actors are drug-addicted that does not insinuate that people admiring them are also drug-addicted. Additionally, there are many famous business tycoons who are looked up to by large number of people. For example, Steve Jobs, he is known to be stickler and is admired by many. This do not indicate that people admiring him are also very strict and adhere to their ideas religiously. If this is the case, there would have many successful businessman with innovative ideas. Thus, the statement is not correct, that role models' character help to know about the character of the society.

To sum up, as discussed above, the character of few people do not help to know the character of whole society. There are people who are totally different in character from the role model they admire. As every person is different and admiring someone does not mean emulating that person.