The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Understanding the character of the Roles models or Heroes of the society insights us into the character of the society? The author claims as Heros and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals. I concede with the authors view, but Character of the role models or heroes may not always completely reveal the society’s actual character.

People generally tend to idealize men or women as their heroes or role models based on their fundament values and ideals which they tend to perceive in these heroes. So often people or society portray the characters of the heroes or role models they admire.

Mahatma Gandhi is considered as a great role model who lead the Indian freedom struggle in peaceful and nonviolent manner, many people are inspired by his “ahimsa” ( non- violence) philosophy and they tend to follow his footsteps and are living with compassion to towards all living beings.

Similarly there are many terrorist and jihadi groups which idealize Osama Bin Laden and who has motivated many innocent individuals and induced antipathy towards the western countries in them. These hard core terrorists are inspired by him and consider him as their hero and commit inhuman and violent activities in the western world.

However it is important to look at how one defines the character and what character is about. Every individual of a society may act in a different way in the same situation based on their own value and belief systems. It is also highly subjective on how one perceives that act so it’s apparently there no stringent yardsticks to define the character. So it will not be prudent enough to generalize the character of the society to the character its role models.

Popular film stars and politicians who act pretentiously in public life as good Samaritans and highly charactered are often considered the role models by the many people in the society. But in reality these film stars and politicians may have very different temperaments in their personal life than those portrayed in the public.

There are famous sports who people tend their role models such Karnum Maleswari who is a famous weight lifting champion from India and won Olympic medals too, she is a great inspiration to women weightlifters in India. Though she could inspire many she is was involved in the doping and heavily penalized and got banned from the sport. So as it will be precarious to mark all the women weight lifters from India to be with similar attitude.

So in conclusion it is important to use prudent discretion while generalizing the character of the role models and heroes of the society to its own character as it may not be always true that the chosen heroes or role models live up to the expectations.