Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

How do people become successful? Many people believe that successful people repeatedly do the things they know well. On the other hand few believe that doing new things and taking up risks will make one to be successful. In my opinion what it takes for someone to become is successful is the ability to take up risks and then try new things for several reasons.

To begin with people who try new things tend to improve their knowledge which will be of great help for them in the long run. When people keep try new things they are also learning about new things so their knowledge expands. This new knowledge can be used in their area they know well to produce to great results. For instance there is an electrical engineer who is an expert in the electrical parts, acquires on mechanical engineering he can build innovative products like electric cars which require knowledge on both areas. Likewise, many great scientists keep doing new things by doing interdisciplinary work by collaborating with other scientists.

Furthermore, generally it takes a long time for someone to become successful when they confine themselves to their only area of expertise. When one tries to work on new things and venture into unexplored areas, there is a huge amount of uncertainty, higher chance of failure. But taking these risks helps in reaching ones goal faster. Many successful people have taken unconventional risk paths and reached their goals. One such example is mark Zuckerberg they founder of facebook, he has taken up a huge risk by dropping out of college in order to build facebook. Today he became a highly successful person at a very young age. Very very few get to that level of achievement at that age.

In Conclusion, although people believe that successful people are those who repeated do well at what they are already doing well. I believe it is important that one should take up new things and risks so they widen their knowledge and in turn their chance to succeed.