Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well

It is generally said that successful people are willing to try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they are good at now. I totally agree with this idea and would like to explain why I support this idea with reasons and examples as follows.

First, successful guys enjoy doing new businesses with many risks, because they know that there are high returns in a job with high risk. In low risk things, there must be many people already working with severe competition, so a big investment would be the key factor to win in a game and players would share yields at certain rate. However, in a new and risky field, creativity and strong passion would be the most important things and the winner can take all the yield, because only few players are in the game. This point leads successful people to take risks continuously. For example, when Elon musk, the founder of Tesla electric car company, founded his company, most people regarded him as a crazy guy and the electric car not profitable. They criticized a lot that electric car cannot go long distances and never be the main stream of car industry. However, Tesla became the biggest car company in stock value and he is the richest man in the world after overcoming those risks.

Second, successful men know that they have to try new things to continue their successes. Our world is changing and developing so fast, so we have to learn and try many new things to catch the speed of development. For instance, there was Nokia, the biggest mobile phone company around the year 2000. Nokia was the biggest conventional 2G mobile phone, but they did not try and prepare new smartphone era. They did not exert their efforts in developing new smartphone technology and even ignoring new advent of the smartphone wave, because the 2G mobile phone technology was what they knew how to do well. A decade later, Nokia became one of the smallest players in the phone industry and Apple, an innovative computer company became an unbeatable world number one with new smartphone innovation in this business.

To sum up, taking risks and trying new things are regarded as the most important factors for winning success, and we can see many cases of big companies that have disappeared, due to not taking new things and risks. In this regard, I strongly agree that economically powerful people enjoy doing new things and taking risks.