Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

I do not agree in toto with the author that the ability to convince someone with the opposing view is the acid test for an argument because arguments are only an tool to express once view point and all viewpoints are not always rational. I would like to use certain examples to substantiate my position.

People tend to develop the views based on various factors such as morals, values, beliefs and rationality. So before we jump on the arugment which is tool to support or express the viewpoint one must consider what the specific view is based. Views that are based on the morals values and beliefs tend to be highly subjective. When a person develops a view or prospective on to something that person believes in that idea whether others will be believe it or not as that person himself is convinced on to it.

Arguments are tools used to bolster one’s view point and yes their ability to convince or counter the contradicting views helps in strengthening ones fundamental views and creates clarity. Ones argument should be clear, crisp and rational enough to defend the counter argument or view points. Only when ones argument faces the contrasting views, its gaps or flaws get exposed. So the more one works on the gaps and clears their view point the stronger it is.

Arguments with respect views on the larger issues such as the constitution frame work, mission of company need to debated adequately so the all the contradicting views are answered and the idea is strong enough without any flaws. These ideas need to gain to the confidence and acceptance of all the stake holders for effective implementation.

All said and done when a person forms his ideas or views based on his intuition, emotions, feeling, religious beliefs, and experiences these ideas may not always be able to convince someone who has a contradicting views as these are highly subjective and personal. The views cannot be proved to right or wrong with no amount rationality or logical until the idea actualizes.

When people believe in the religious ideas no rational explanation can support the idea defend an counter argument. There are instances were miracles happen like where people who are clinicaly dead have come back to life and shared their experience of post death. When someone contradicts this idea of miracle, there is no valid logical or rational counter but yes to the person who has experienced this that is a fact and truth.

So in conclusion it is important take a holistic approach on to what the argument is about and whether it has a rational basics before one judge the argument by its ability to defend the contradicting views as not every idea can be rationally proved to be right.