'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The memo from the business manager of a television station states that over the part year the late night news program has deveoted more to national news and less time to weather and local news. The author recommends to restore the time deveoted to the weather and local news to its previous levels. In order to support his recommendation the author makes several dubious claims such as decrease in the advertisement contracts and increased complaints recieved from the viewers. The arguments provided to support recommendation are unconvincing for several reasons.

Firstly, the author contends that the television station has recieved complaints over the past year regarding the coverage on the weather and local news. However, this claim is unsubstantiated as there is not proper evidence provided on the veiwers actually complaining on alloting less time to the weather and local news. Futhermore, the views might be concern over the quality of the news items provided with respect to the weather and local news. The author need to provide a comprehensive survey from the viewers regarding their opinion on the time allocation, news item quality and their preference on the national news, weather and local news.

Secondly, the author states that the advertising contracts were cancelled with the late night news programs and unreasonably accounts this for the time allocation of weather and local news. However, it is highly likely that the advertisements contracts are decreasing because of the lowering viewship of the late night news program. Author needs to provide adequate information on the viewer ship of the late night news program and also provide data trends of advertisement on other Television stations. This information helps to effectively analyze the proper reason for the drop in the advertisments.

Finally, the author argues that reviving the old timings of the weather and local news on the late night night news program will lead to increase in viewership and revenues. In this contrast, there might drop in viewer ship due to the poor quality of news in this channel and much more interesting programs on the other Television channels. So author should provide details in the trends on viewer ships of the other TV channels in the late night timing. It is also possible that people are sleeping early In the recent times due to weather conditons or any other reason there by leading to drop in viewer ships. Even after increasing the timing of weather and local news if the viewer ships are not rising. Then there may not be any significant increase in the revenues.

To sum up, the arguments of the author could be more eloquent if further information is provided with a proper survey of TV viewers on their preference , more information the advertinsing trends in among various other local channels and finally viewership details of other local channels during the late nights. With out ruling out the alternative explainations, the recommendations cannot considered persuasive.