Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with opposing viewing.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The writer of the issue claims that the best method in an argumental subject is convincing others with its opponent views. Because opposing ideas merely can reveal all details which are latent in. This assertion and its instance are inadequate to identify all aspects of an issue and the way by utilizing them might be unsound. I can agree with neither the claim nor the reason as I found both of them problematic and other methods should be deemed to recognize the issue.

The first problem with the claim is that only using negative aspects to recognize an argumental issue can increase the pessemism viewing. In this way, the aim is to bold disadvantages, try to advance opponents and ignore all merits which have tremendous impacts. Furthermore, this method raise a considerable number of challenges which have correlations with the main theme and it may alter it to be more complex and obscure. This vagueness have the ability to stray scholars from the initial targets which were designed to discover details though it creates an issue which is self-contradictory with some new questions which are presumably unfathomable. Thus, we should avoid the methods that increase the probability of creating distinguishable issues.

Another snag with the claim is that lumping barely opposing notions together to disclose an argumental topic has the ability to face an obstacle. This difficulty diminish the velocity of the recognition process. Therefore, dullness arises and it declines the propensity to continue and bear the problems which should be addressed to unmask the issue. Moreover, more efforts require to efface the obstacle and it can lead to the cancelation of evaluating and convincing.

As I stated in the introductory paragraph, I cannot accept the reason either. The flaw with the reason is that not only using obligation to defend opponents cannot bolster the circumstances in order to enhance a wealth of that idea but also it may decrease it. For instance, an idea with only its drawbacks which are surrounding it and have no permission for considering its benefits can be seen as a valueless subject and it is not worth to think about it.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on the claim and its reason, I profoundly believe that considering merely the opponents of an issue and not allowing to deem the supporting ones cannot permit to uncover its values and it is quite difficult to convince others .